2015 · Book Reviews · Fiction · Grief · Romance

Another Night, Another Day, Sarah Rayner

21055603Published: 2014 by Picador | Pages: 404

Three people, each crying out for help.

There’s Karen, about to lose her father; Abby, whose son has autism and needs constant care, and Michael, a family man on the verge of bankruptcy. As each sinks under the strain, they’re brought together at Moreland’s Psychiatric Clinic. 

Here, behind closed doors, they reveal their deepest secrets, confront and console one another and share plenty of laughs. But how will they cope when a new crisis strikes?

Well, I think it is official: Sarah Rayner is my all time favourite author. I just love her style of writing, she always hits me right in the heart with the emotional connection I feel with her characters. So ‘Another Night, Another Day’ sort of acts as the follow on from her previous novel ‘One Moment, One Morning’, but it does also work as a stand alone text which is brilliant for those readers who have yet to discover this literary talent!

As expected, this novel hits with strong emotions throughout and makes you question what your own responses might be, if you were to ever find yourself in a position that some of the character’s find themselves in. But, most importantly, Rayner concludes the novel with a sense of hope and positivity, which I personally find extremely uplifting at the end of a good read.

My favourite character constantly changed as the novel progressed, but I eventually decided on Abby. The way Rayner created Abby was fascinating. At first, you can see that Abby’s personal life is not a bed of roses. But to be honest, whose actually is? This is why I love Rayner so much, she’s terrifyingly realistic. Personally, I learnt something from Abby and her son Callum. It really made me think about how I judge and approach people who are different to me, and it really highlighted how misunderstood autism is, as well as how narrow minded society is about it. That was a major thought pattern that came to light throughout the text.

Regarding Rayner’s realistic writing skills, the issues that Molly faces throughout the book struck a chord with me. In the previous book, One Moment One Morning, Molly loses her husband suddenly, and now in this book, she is once again struck by death when she loses her father somewhat suddenly. I went through a period about 5 years ago where I lost my grandfather, but my dad had also been quite ill around the same time. I really connected with how Molly just wanted a bit of happiness, hence her trying to carry on as normal, but eventually admitted she did feel sad, as if something was continously missing. Rayner manages to hit those vulnerable points we all have inside ourselves, but her writing ends up acting almost like a therapist – it helps you deal with those points in a non-evasive, delicate way.

Overall I absolutely loved this book, just as much as ‘One Moment, One Morning’. 5+ star read!

Leave a Reply

