Award News · Spotlight

Wellcome Prize Shortlist, 2016

The Wellcome Prize began in 2009, and is awarded to either a fiction or non-fiction text which is a central focus on health, medicine or illness. The Wellcome Trust created this award to not only spark debate around the aforementioned subjects, but also to excite readers about this area of science.

For 2016, the chair of the judging panel is Joan Bakewell, and the other judges are Frances Balkwill OBE (Professor of Cancer Biology at Barts Cancer Institute and author), Damian Barr (writer and columnist), Tessa Hadley (novelist), and Sathnam Sanghera (journalist and author).

The Shortlist (see below) was announced 14/03/2016, with the final results on 25/04/2016.

Watch out for my review of the winning text after the results have been announced!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s