Author Interviews · Guest Post

Guest Post: ‘Stuck in the Box – Genre Trap’, Mannah Pierce

If asked what I enjoy reading, I say Science Fiction. On reflection, the answer is more complex. I prefer stories that are more about characters than plot. I do not like ‘clever’ books; I want writing to be in service to the story, not the other way around. I do not want to be disgusted or terrified. I love anything that stretches my imagination.

‘Pride and Prejudice’ is one of my favourite books. Reading ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ changed me. As a teenager I read Shakespeare out loud to myself in my bedroom. Yet I have spent the whole of my adult life heading for those Science Fiction shelves in the bookshop.

Now I am hoist by my own petard. I have written a book labelled ‘Science Fiction’ and the vast majority of potential readers will not look at the back cover, never mind the first page. Worse, those avid Science Fiction fans who do open the cover are likely to be puzzled. There are spaceships, but most of them are a cross between a camper van and a long-haul truck. There are space stations, but to the residents they are merely their local housing estate. My characters live in family units, albeit not conventional ones, and drink a lot of tea.

If you like Historical Fiction, I believe you will enjoy my version of Science Fiction. Both have people you would recognise transported into an imaginary setting. Both challenge your preconceptions by exposing you to very different social mores. Both give fascinating detail about everyday life. There is a thread joining you to both, only my world is millenniums in the future rather than centuries in the past.

I invite you into my world (www.mannahpierce.com).

Leave a Reply

