Blog Tours · Fantasy · Fiction · Spotlight

Rhew 2 Rhew Blog Tour: Deek Rhew 16/4/16

I am so happy to be here on A Cheeky Book Addict’s Thoughts! Hello, Sophie and all you wonderful readers of her blog. What a great day to do an interview! Also, stick around after the interview to learn about our books and enter to win a $50 Amazon gift card!

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Well, I was born in California, but my dad was in the military so moved around a bit–Colorado to Montana and finally we settled in the Pacific Northwest.

You wanna piece of dis?
I’m a little crazy. I love to travel and adventure. I have an over-the-top sense of humor; the more zany something is, the more I’ll probably like it!
Deek on the water!
I was fortunate enough to meet and marry my soulmate, Erin Rhew. She is just as crazy as I am and rolls with my being nutz!
Beautiful Erin
on the water!
Erin and Deek
just another day!
Erin and Deek
showing some ‘tude!
Erin and Deek on
the “Big” Piano

 Why did you become a writer?

I didn’t set out to be a writer. Actually I wanted to fly jets for the military! Wut? Yep! Real Top Gun sort of stuff, only it turns out the Air Force won’t put people who are colorblind in the cockpits of their planes. I don’t know, something about the enemy is red on the on-board navigation and the good guys are green. Something ridiculous like that.So after that I decided to pursue another passion of mine: music. I became a music major, had a rock band, the works. Only in college, I started living that lifestyle and discovered it blows. Chunks. Long looooong hours. Stinky pay. Drunk fans and seedy bars. No, thank you.

In high school, I’d learned to love the written word, and later in life, after I’d gotten my degree and was able to feed myself on a regular basis, I decided to give it a shot. A coworker has said that WWII vets had been interviewed after they retired and they were asked what they would have done differently. Almost universally, they said they would have done something creative.

I tried writing before and my books fizzled, but I had a flash of a scene while driving my car to work one morning. It was so vivid that I had to pull over into a dark alley and type it up…on my phone. After that, I worked diligently, one chapter followed the next until my characters had finished dictating their stories to me. There’s still so much more to write, but 122 is one of the first installments!

Lucky Deek with his
beautiful bride!

Who’s your all-time favourite writer and why?

Erin Rhew! Hands down my fav of all time. We joke that I loved her writing so much I had to marry the author. 🙂

Other than my bride, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Nelson DeMille. You will see each of these gents’ influences in my writing.

Mr. King could write the danged phone book, and it would be an awesome tale. He’s one of the most brilliant storytellers of all time. IMHO.

Mr. Koontz is an amazing story teller, but what he does is create incredible characters that you think about long after you’ve closed the cover. Christopher Snow is easily my favorite character of any book ever. Dean also has an elegant, beautiful writing style and description capability that I could only dream of matching.

Mr. DeMille weaves these intricate action plots with humorous but serious characters. If you’ve ever read the John Corey novels, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. John is tough and complicated and funny.

I’d love to go on an adventure with John, Christopher, and Samson. I think we’d have a marvelous time.

P.S. I know you asked for just one, but…

So what’s 122 Rules about?

The quick answer is an federal assassin grows a conscience mid-assignment. He believes the girl he’s chasing is innocent and has to decide to follow orders and eliminate her or follow his gut and help her escape.

Finally, what was your inspiration for 122 Rules?

I’ve always loved action / adventure stories. And bad guys, man, I love a good bad guy! But I really love bad guys that ride the line and aren’t completely bad, and good guys that ride the line and aren’t completely good. If you’ve ever watched Justified, the Raylan Givens / Boyd Crowder relationship is a perfect example of this. Raylan is a deputy marshal, and Boyd is the head of a band of outlaws. They grew up together and mined coal together, but in the end, they each ended up on just slightly different sides of the righteous line. Only slightly.

I hadn’t seen Justified before I started writing 122, but if I had it would have certainly been an inspiration for me. Honestly, I don’t know if I have a specific inspiration. You could say that the stories of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Nelson DeMille were my biggest inspirations for the characters in my story. Mr. King for sure was the inspiration for Alabaster Cove!

Thank you SO much for having me on your blog, Sophie! Readers, are you ready to learn a bit about our books and enter to win a $50 Amazon gift card? Woop! Let’s go!

Rhew 2 Rhew Book Blog Tour

Rhew 2 Rhew Blog Tour – 122 Rules Book Blitz Extravaganza!

How’s that for a catchy title? What a crazy adventure this has been FIVE years in the making, and it has finally arrive: 122 Rules has been born unto the world. The stories I could tell just so I could tell you this story…well, let’s just say it’s been an interesting, educational, and life-altering adventure.

Who could resist those stunning blues?

This has been a grand journey, filled with hardships, fun, learning, and growth. But of all the things that have happened on the writing road, meeting the love of my life is the most unlikely and easily the luckiest, most blessed things to have ever happened to me.

Ahhhh! It’s cold out here!
Do ya feel lucky punk? Well, do ya?

Erin Rhew and I started out as critique partners, became friends, and now she’s my bride. She’s my best friend and partner in all things. Even if I don’t sell a single copy of my writings, I’ll always be a smashing success because I met Erin.

Book Blitz

On this half of the Rhewination tour, I am visiting blogs all over the globe, from Australia to the farthest corners in Canada. Next week, on the second half of the tour, Erin will be gracing the pages of 50+ bloggers!

In addition, we are giving away a $50 Amazon gift card! Prepare yourselves to win!

122 Rules

 

Today, we are announcing my adult thriller novel, 122 Rules

Synopsis

In his black and white world, Sam Bradford–former Marine turned government assassin–finally sees a speck of grey. He has always followed orders without question, but his latest assignment threatens to disrupt the precision of his universe and may either severe or redeem his last remaining sliver of humanity.

Using his mastery of the 122 Rules of Psychology, Sam hunts down everyone The Agency sends him to find and eliminates them. Just as he has his rifle scope focused on his latest victim, Monica Sable, a SoCal girl entangled with the mob, his long-dormant conscience reappears for a final performance…one last ditch effort to save the sinking ship of Sam’s soul. He’s killed innocents before, but tarries on pulling the trigger this time.

When Monica escapes his cross-hairs and fumbles her way across the country in a pathetic attempt to elude capture, Sam gives chase. But he’s not the only one after her. Ruthless henchmen, hired by the mob, froth like bloodhounds and nip at Monica’s heels. Now Sam is faced with a choice: turn his back on the rules and jeopardize his way of life by helping her or join the pack and rip her to shreds.

What are readers saying?

122 Rules is a fast-paced thrill-ride, filled with rich characters living in an expertly woven world of mystery and suspense. Deek Rhew’s debut novel will take readers by storm, and keep them coming back for sequels.
 
~Michelle K. Pickett, Bestselling and award-winning author of PODs and Unspeakable.
  
The perfect, fast-paced novel for fans of kick-butt heroines, creepy killers, and getting caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. An absolute must-read!
 
 
Visit Amazon and Goodreads!
  
While you’re on Deek’s site check out Birth of an American Gigolo.
Synopsis
An old party girl shoehorned into domestic divaship, infuriated by her husband’s cheating and his holier-than-thou, tree-hugging, no-tits and no-hips girlfriend, inflicts her wrath by training a local boy in the fine art of seduction. She and her new boy toy turned love god start a gigolo business as a distraction for the neglected and mistreated housewives of Alabaster Cove.
 
 
Take a selfie with your eBook or paper copy of Birth and post it on social media with the tag #BirthSelfie. We’ll post you on the Rhewination web site!


Deek Rhew

Deek Rhew

Deek lives in a rainy pocket in the Pacific Northwest with the stunning YA author bride, Erin Rhew, and their writing assistant, a fat tabby named Trinity. They enjoy lingering in the mornings, and often late into the night, caught up Erin’s fantastic fantasy worlds of noble princes and knights and entwined in Deek’s dark underworld of the FBI and drug lords.

He and Erin love to share books by reading aloud to one another. In addition, they enjoy spending time with friends, running, boxing, lifting weights, and exploring the little town–with antique shops and bakeries–they call home.

Connect with Deek!

For the latest and greatest, visit his web page:
 
 
Next week be on the lookout for Erin’s:
The Fulfillment Series Blitz Extravaganza!
Erin Rhew’s book that started it all, The Prophecy!
Erin Rhew’s The Fulfillment
Erin Rhew’s The Outlanders

Erin Rhew

Erin Rhew

Erin Rhew is an editor, a running coach, and the author of The Fulfillment Series. Since she picked up Morris the Moose Goes to School at age four, she has been infatuated with the written word. She went on to work as a grammar and writing tutor in college and is still teased by her family and friends for being a member of the “Grammar Police.”

A Southern girl by blood and birth, Erin now lives in a rainy pocket of the Pacific Northwest with the amazingly talented (and totally handsome) writer Deek Rhew and their “overly fluffy,” patient-as-a-saint writing assistant, a tabby cat named Trinity. She and Deek enjoy reading aloud to one another, running, lifting, boxing, eating chocolate, and writing side-by-side.

 
For the latest and greatest, visit her web page:


Are you ready to win?!!! Enter the Rhewination, Rhews on Tour Giveaway!

Artwork

Authors, do you think the artwork for The Prophecy, The Outlanders, The Fulfillment, Birth of an American Gigolo, and 122 Rules is as stunning as we do? Visit Race-Point.com to find out how you can get the amazing Anita to work on your book as well!

One thought on “Rhew 2 Rhew Blog Tour: Deek Rhew 16/4/16

Leave a Reply

