2015 · Author Interviews · Author Q&A

Q&A: Stacy Juba, Author of ‘Fooling Around with Cinderella’

UntitledWhy did you become a writer?
I have been writing since third grade and was writing my own mystery series in fifth grade. Writing and reading have always been important parts of my life. I did actually major in something else, exercise science, but when it came time to seek jobs in that field, nothing felt right. I was itching to create. So I got into newspaper reporting and marketing writing, and wrote books on the side. Now I am focusing on writing my novels and being a freelance editor.

Do you have a ‘writing routine’?
I work on my writing career every day. There is a lot of marketing and book promotion involved with that and it is easy to get caught up in it and let the actual writing fall by the wayside. So I set a timer and try to write for at least 15 minutes every day. Some days I am able to write for a few hours, but there are some busy days where I can just manage 15 or 20 minutes; and there are some days where I can’t write the next scene until I research something so on a day like that, research might count as my writing time. Basically, I work on my book in some way or another every day.

Who is your favourite writer / what is your favourite book?
That has changed over the years – as a teen I loved the Outsiders by SE Hinton. Then later I loved JK Rowling and the Harry Potter series. Now I am hooked on Sophie Kinsella’s Confessions of a Shopaholic series. They make me laugh and I love how she has carried that theme through so many books.

How important do you think bloggers are to the success of a book?
I think bloggers are incredibly important. I am so grateful for their willingness to give an honest but fair opinion, and to help authors spread the word about their books. I am always touched when I see reviewers tweeting a review of my book, sharing it on Facebook, or cross-posting it on sites such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads. Book blogs also have devoted followings of readers, and when a blogger takes the time out of their busy schedule to post a review, interview or spotlight on their blog, it really means a lot to me. I love building relationships with bloggers and I have a list of bloggers In notify when I have new releases in case they  are interested in reviewing it.  I also love reading book blogs, because I wouldn’t be an author if I wasn’t a book lover!

Tell us about your latest book!
My latest book is Fooling Around With Cinderella, the first in my Storybook Valley chick lit/sweet romance series. I am so excited about it!

This is the blurb:
What happens when the glass slippers pinch Cinderella’s toes? When Jaine Andersen proposes a new marketing role to the local amusement park, general manager Dylan Callahan charms her into filling Cinderella’s glass slippers for the summer. Her reign transforms Jaine’s ordinary life into chaos that would bewilder a fairy godmother. Secretly dating her bad boy boss, running wedding errands for her ungrateful sisters, and defending herself from the park’s resident villain means Jaine needs lots more than a comfy pair of shoes to restore order in her kingdom.  I am currently writing the second book in the series, Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty, about Dylan’s sister Rory. I am hoping the series will help readers escape the stress of their daily lives by taking them on a virtual vacation to a theme park where there are happily ever afters.

You can find Stacy on Amazon, Goodreads and her own website!

One thought on “Q&A: Stacy Juba, Author of ‘Fooling Around with Cinderella’

Leave a Reply

